Getting Started with Open FAIR™ Certification

Getting Started with Open FAIR Certification

This page is intended to provide guidance for individuals seeking Open FAIR certification. It provides answers to frequently asked questions about the program.


The Open FAIR Certification for People Program is a market-driven education and certification program to support the Open FAIR Body of Knowledge, which is composed of the Open Risk Taxonomy and the Open Risk Analysis Technical Standards.

What is the Purpose of the program?

  • It ensures that individuals are knowledgeable about the Open FAIR Body of Knowledge.
  • It is a common baseline of knowledge.
  • It provides a visible trust mark.
  • Read the Open FAIR Certification Program Summary for more information.


How can I achieve certification?

To achieve certification, you must pass the applicable Open FAIR Examination. You may choose to self-study or attend a training course.

After you take the examination, the Examination Provider will submit your results to the Certification Authority within a few days of you taking the exam. The Certification Authority will then notify you by email within 6 business days after your exam results are submitted to the Certification Authority. At that time, you must visit this site again to enter into a Trademark License Agreement. If you have passed the exam and complete these tasks successfully, you will then be certified.

What certifications are available?

There is presently one level of certification:

  • Open FAIR Foundation (Level 1): Knowledge of the fundamentals of the Open FAIR Body of Knowledge, including knowledge of the terminology, structure, and basic concepts of the Open FAIR Body of Knowledge, and understanding of the core principles of risk analysis using FAIR, the Risk Analysis Standard, and the Risk Taxonomy Standard sufficient to be able to contribute to a risk analysis project.

What are the steps to certification?

The following are the steps that must be completed in order to achieve certification:

  1. A candidate who wants to be certified, becomes familiar with the Conformance Requirements.
  2. The candidate acquires knowledge of the Open FAIR Body of Knowledge by self-study or by attending an Accredited Training Course.
  3. The candidate takes an examination at The Open Group Examination Provider (currently Pearson VUE.
  4. The Certification Authority reviews the exam submission.
  5. The Certification Authority notifies the candidate by email.
  6. The candidate uses credentials received from the Certification Authority to accept the Trademark License Agreement.
  7. The Certification Authority lists the candidate in Certification Directory and provides access to the PDF certificate and logos.

Preparing for Certification

How can I find a training course?

You can find an available accredited training course either by viewing the public Calendar of Accredited Training Courses or by contacting a provider using the Register of Accredited Training Courses. Click the course name entry; the detailed page displays a web link to the company that offers the course. As part of the package of attending an accredited course, the training organization also provides a voucher for the examination.

What is the difference between accredited and non-accredited training?

Accredited Training Courses have been independently reviewed to ensure that they cover all of the Learning Outcomes required for the level of certification covered by the course. When you attend an Accredited Training Course, your trainer will provide you with an examination voucher to be used to take the examination. Non-accredited training courses do not include the cost of the examination as part of the training course fee.

Are there self-study materials?

Not at the moment, though we anticipate providing a set of self-study materials in the future.

How can I find out about the syllabus and examinations?

To obtain a high level view, read the datasheets that describe certification. For detail on what is expected from candidates, see the Conformance Requirements document.

The Open FAIR exam comprises 80 questions in simple multiple choice format.


What are the eligibility requirements for the exam?

There are no eligibility requirements to take the Open FAIR examination.

How is the examination delivered?

The exam is delivered at The Open Group Examination Provider (currently Pearson VUE) test centers. For more information, go to our Examinations page.

What is considered a passing score for the Open FAIR Examination?

You must answer at least 56 of the 80 questions correctly in order to pass the Open FAIR examination, a score of 70% or better.

Is there a practice examination available?

Not at the moment, though we anticipate providing a practice examination in the future.

What do the exams cover?

See the Conformance Requirements document for detailed information.

If I fail, can I retake an exam immediately?

No. The certification policy has a minimum period before you can retake an examination. This is currently one month. If you retake the exam before that period, we will void your test result.

What is the retake policy if I fail an examination?

Candidates who fail an examination are not allowed to retake an Open FAIR examination again for a period of one (1) month. We will void results we receive before one month has passed.

Candidates who fail to meet the required pass mark are encouraged to undergo further study and retake the examination at a later date. Arrangements for further study between an Accredited Training Course Provider and a failed candidate are not within the scope of the program.

What allowances are made for non-native English speakers?

Candidates taking the examination in a language other than their first language are allowed to use a dictionary. Such Candidates may request additional time for the examination when taking the examination as part of an Accredited Training Course. Permission for extra time is granted at the sole discretion of the examination supervisor. For examinations provided in English at the Examination Provider's test center(currently Pearson VUE) in countries where English is a second language, the extended time is set as the default for the examination in that country.

Are the exams available in different languages?

The Open Group's examinations will be available in English at the start of the program. Examinations in other languages may be added, according to demand.